Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Gérard Gariépy

 

Gérard GariépySport sector, Athlete category

 

Gérard Gariépy was born in Léry, on the shores of Lake Saint-Louis.  Coming from a family of eight children, he grew up without any particular interest in sailing. He has formal training as a programmer-analyst, an occupation he would have for only three years. His taste for adventure would lead him to go around the world, but not in a boat!

He married Lise and they moved to Chateauguay in 1980. He is the father of two girls, Mylène and Brigitte. He began an arboricultural company in the late 1970s, an enterprise that he still runs today.

It was during the funeral of his grandmother in 1983 that a cousin invited him to take part in a race with him on his sailboat. His argument of persuading him: “We are going to win!” And they won the race!

In 1987, following an injury to a member of the crew of a boat registered in the Canadian championships, Gérard was invited to replace him and won the race. He then participated in more than 2,000 races. In the 1990s, he registered himself in more than 100 races a year all over the East Coast of the United States and in the Gulf of Mexico. Gérard and his crew achieved a streak of 25 consecutive first-place finishes, a rare accomplishment in the world of sailing.

Among other things, he won the Solar Class World championship in Tampa in 2001, as well as four North American championships and the South Ocean Racing Club title in 2000, which brought him notoriety and confirmation on the international scene.

Our honouree owes a big thank you to Dick Steffen, with whom he has competed on a regular basis, and to the boat “Zoo II” which turned out to be a reliable performer after the multiple modifications made to it. 

Gérard spent part of his youth training with an elite athlete named Françoise Aubry. Today he is proud to maintain that it is possible to reach a high level of excellence if he perseveres at it.

The feats of Gérard Gariépy make him well worth being inducted in the Chateauguay Hall of Fame in the sports athlete category. 

 

 

Last update: 2012-10-17 11:22

Passer au contenu
Bris d'aqueduc au 188 rue Melrose

Gérard Gariépy

Gérard GariépySecteur sport, catégorie athlète

Gérard Gariépy est né à Léry, au bord du lac Saint-Louis. Issu d’une famille de huit enfants, il a grandi sans s’intéresser de façon particulière à la voile. Il possède une formation comme programmeur-analyste, métier qu’il exercera pendant trois ans seulement. Son goût de l’aventure l’emmènera à faire le tour du monde, mais pas en bateau!

Il épouse Lise et s’installe à Châteauguay en 1980. Il est père de deux filles, Mylène et Brigitte. Il démarre sa compagnie en arboriculture à la fin des années 70, entreprise qu’il dirige toujours, aujourd’hui. 

C’est lors des funérailles de sa grand-mère, en 1983, qu’un cousin l’invite à prendre part à une course avec lui sur son voilier. Son argument de persuasion : « On va gagner! » Et ils remportent la course! 

En 1987, suite à la blessure d’un membre de l’équipage d’un bateau inscrit au Championnat canadien, Gérard est invité à le remplacer et remporte la course. Il participe par la suite à plus de 2000 courses. Dans les années 90, il s’inscrit à plus de 100 courses annuellement partout sur la côte est des États-Unis et dans le golf du Mexique. Gérard et son équipage réussissent alors une séquence de 25 premières places consécutives, un exploit rare dans le domaine de la voile. 

Il remporte entre autres le championnat mondial classe Solar à Tampa en 2001, et quatre championnats nord-américains et la South Ocean Racing Club en 2000, ce qui lui apporte notoriété et consécration sur la scène internationale. 

Notre lauréat doit un gros merci à Dick Steffen, avec qui il a compétitionné régulièrement, et au bateau « Zoo II » qui s’est avéré très performant après les multiples modifications qu’ils lui ont apportées. 

Gérard a passé une partie de sa jeunesse à s’entraîner avec une athlète d’élite, Françoise Aubry. Aujourd’hui, il est fier d’affirmer qu’il est possible d’atteindre un haut niveau d’excellence si la persévérance est de la partie! 

Les exploits de M. Gérard Gariépy lui valent d’être intronisé au Temple de la renommée de Châteauguay dans la catégorie Sport (Athlète).

Dernière mise à jour: 2012-10-17 10:17