Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Raymond Laberge

 

 

Raymond LabergeArt sector, builder category

 

Born in Chateauguay in 1941, Raymond Laberge did his primary studies at Chateauguay's École Modèle No. 1 and would be inspired for his whole life by his youth and his roots. He also took classic studies at the Séminaire de Valleyfield and attended university where he obtained a licence in school administration. In 1965 he began his professional career with the Chateauguay Catholic School Commission. He worked there for 28 years, first as a teacher, but would quickly be promoted as a member of school principals.

In 1983, the municipal authorities designated him as “honorary citizen of the City of Chateauguay” due to his involvement in the school system and the community. In 1984, the Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption (NDA) Parish paid tribute to him for his involvement at the pastoral level and in sports. In 1989, Mr. Laberge founded the Chateauguay Catholic School Commission's information bulletin, but it was in 1999 that he became actively involved in the conservation of patrimony by creating the “Commando group for the upkeep and restoration of Chateauguay's crossing paths. That was the beginning of an adventure which led him to publish a series of six books with a historic and patrimonial flavour from 1999 to 2002. Moreover, at the Volunteers Merit Gala in 2001, the City of Chateauguay bestowed him with the prize as “beneficiary of the year in the writing category.” 

In addition to participating in the writing of articles in the Société du musée du Grand Châteauguay bulletin and in the Anna Laberge Hospital Centre journal, Mr. Laberge conducted numerous conferences on Chateauguay patrimony and he wrote nine new books under the theme of “Great Chateauguay residents.” 

Attesting to his important contribution, the Société du musée du Grand Châteauguay designated him in 2005 as an honorary member. In 2006 he published his book “Châteauguay se raconte” which brings together an anthology of 11 of his works, each one dealing with a particular aspect of Chateauguay history. Mr. Laberge does not consider himself a historian, a writer or a poet, but as a communicator who brings the past back to life. According to him, Chateauguay has been: the witness of his birth, accomplice of his youth, partner of his professional life and ally of his retirement. 

It is thus as an “arts and culture” builder and for his exceptional contribution to Chateauguay's memory that Raymond Laberge now takes his place in the Chateauguay Hall of Fame.

“Not only do I live in Chateauguay, but Chateauguay lives in me...!” - Raymond Laberge

 

Last update: 2012-10-17 11:29

Passer au contenu

Raymond Laberge

Raymond LabergeSecteur arts, catégorie bâtisseur

Né à Châteauguay en 1941, Raymond Laberge fait ses études primaires à l’École Modèle no 1 de Châteauguay et sera toute sa vie inspiré par sa jeunesse et ses racines. Il fait également des études classiques au séminaire de Valleyfield et des études universitaires où il obtient une licence en administration scolaire. C’est en 1965 qu’il entame sa carrière professionnelle au sein de la Commission scolaire de Châteauguay. Il y œuvre durant 28 ans à titre d’enseignant d’abord, mais sera rapidement promu membre de direction d’écoles. 

En 1983, les autorités municipales le désignent « Citoyen honoraire de la Ville de Châteauguay » en raison de son implication dans le domaine scolaire et communautaire. En 1984, la Paroisse Notre-Dame-de-l’Assomption (NDA) lui rend hommage pour son implication au niveau de la pastorale et des sports. En 1989, M. Laberge fonde le bulletin d’information de la Commission scolaire de Châteauguay, mais c’est en 1999 qu’il s’implique activement à la conservation du patrimoine en créant le « Commando de l’entretien et de la restauration des croix de chemin de Châteauguay ». C’est le début d’une aventure qui le mène à publier, de 1999 à 2002, une série de six recueils à saveur historique et patrimoniale. D’ailleurs, lors du Gala Mérite Bénévoles 2001, la Ville de Châteauguay lui décerne le prix du « Bénéficiaire de l’année volet écriture ». 

En plus de participer à la rédaction d’articles dans le bulletin de la Société du Musée du Grand Châteauguay et dans le journal du Centre hospitalier Anna-Laberge, M. Laberge donne de nombreuses conférences sur le patrimoine châteauguois, et il a rédigé neuf nouveaux recueils ayant pour thème « Les Grands Châteauguois ». Témoin de son importante contribution, la Société du Musée de Grand Châteauguay le désigne en 2005 Membre honoraire. En 2006, il publie son livre « Châteauguay se raconte » qui regroupe onze recueils, chacun traitant d’un aspect particulier de l’histoire châteauguoise. M. Laberge ne se considère pas historien, écrivain, ou poète, mais un communicateur qui fait revivre le passé. Selon lui, Châteauguay a été : témoin de sa naissance, complice de son adolescence, partenaire de sa vie professionnelle et alliée de sa retraite. 

C’est donc en tant que bâtisseur « Arts et culture » et pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la mémoire châteauguoise que M. Raymond Laberge a maintenant sa place au Temple de la renommée de Châteauguay.

« Non seulement j’habite à Châteauguay, mais Châteauguay m’habite… » 

Raymond Laberge

Dernière mise à jour: 2012-10-17 10:28