Skip to content
Watering ban throughout the territory until further notice

Events

«  
  »
S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Free rides on pedicab-type scooters available to senior citizens

Elected City officials and partners in front of a pedicab-type scooter

A new three-wheel pedicab-type scooter transportation service is now available to senior citizens through the Un vélo une ville Program. Two pedicabs will be seen crisscrossing the city this summer to transport seniors free of charge from one place to another.

The service was officially launched on the morning of Saturday, June 23 at the Agora located at 75 Maple Blvd. Pierre Moreau, Châteauguay MNA and Minister of Energy and Natural Resources and Minister responsible for the Plan Nord, Pierre-Paul Routhier, Châteauguay Mayor, elected city officials and partners were present to mark the bringing into service of the scooters.

Available to those living in either seniors’ homes or their own homes, this transportation service combining business with pleasure will help seniors to actively participate in the life of the community. The pedicabs are driven by local youth, who will benefit from paid summer employment and a scholarship at the end of the period of work.

Similar to cars, pedicabs will run on the streets of Châteauguay. Considering their low speed (10 km/h), motorists are requested to be patient and courteous when sharing the road with this type of vehicle. This initiative is part of the social inclusion initiative, Municipalité amie des aînés (Age-Friendly Municipalities), to which Châteauguay belongs and is a full supporter. 

The two scooters will be in operation 7 days a week from 8:30 a.m. to 10 p.m., until August 26. Reservations can be made by calling 450-698-3122.

See the official press release.

Last update: 2018-06-24 11:24

Passer au contenu
Interdiction d'arrosage sur tout le territoire jusqu'à nouvel ordre

Des balades gratuites offertes en triporteur aux citoyens aînés

Les élus et commanditaires posent devant un triporteur

Un nouveau service de triporteurs est maintenant accessible aux citoyens aînés grâce au programme Un vélo une ville. En effet, deux triporteurs sillonneront la ville cet été pour transporter gratuitement les aînés d’un lieu à un autre.

Le lancement officiel du service a eu lieu ce samedi 23 juin en matinée à l’Agora, au 75, boulevard Maple. Pour l’occasion, M. Pierre Moreau, député de Châteauguay, ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles et ministre responsable du Plan Nord, M. Pierre-Paul Routhier, maire de Châteauguay, ainsi que des élus de la Ville et partenaires étaient sur place pour souligner la mise en service des triporteurs. 

Offert tant pour les ainés en résidence que ceux habitant toujours leur domicile, ce service de balades de plaisance et utilitaires permet une participation active à la vie de la communauté. Les triporteurs sont conduits par des jeunes de Châteauguay, qui bénéficient d’un emploi d’été rémunéré et d’une bourse d’études à la fin de la période de travail.

À l’instar des voitures, les triporteurs circuleront à même les rues de Châteauguay. Considérant leur vitesse peu élevée (10 km/h), les automobilistes sont priés de faire preuve de patience et de courtoisie lorsqu’ils partageront la route avec ce type de véhicule. Cette initiative s’inscrit dans la démarche d’inclusion sociale Municipalité amie des aînés, à laquelle la Ville de Châteauguay fait partie et adhère pleinement. 

Les deux triporteurs seront en fonction 7 jours sur 7, de 8 h 30 à 22 h, jusqu’au 26 août. Les réservations peuvent se faire en téléphonant au 450 698-3122.

Communiqué de presse

Dernière mise à jour: 2018-06-23 14:04