Skip to content

Events

«  
  »
S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

The City asks residents to consume drinking water responsibly

 water coming out of a garden hose

At this time of year when there is a lot of work to do outside and peaks are reached in drinking water use, Ville de Châteauguay asks residents to improve or change their habits and, if possible, reduce the demand for drinking water outside normal hours, which is something like the way Hydro-Québec manages electricity in extremely cold weather.

Watering lawns, washing cars and filling pools are all activities that increase drinking water consumption, especially on the first weekends when the weather is nice. During peak consumption periods early in the year, the unrinsed network (since annual unidirectional rinsing takes place from May to November) sometimes put particles into circulation, which may result in water being coloured, but still safe for consumption.

The City reminds residents that, at all times, they must comply with municipal by-laws governing the use of drinking water. The hours for using garden hoses are only between 9:00 p.m. to midnight, on even days for residences whose street address number is even and on odd days for residences whose street address number is odd. Non-compliance with the regulations in force may lead to a fine ranging from $120 to $2,000 (article 6.1, Chapter VI, General Rules G-2000).

There are tips and simple actions to save drinking water on a daily basis. Visit http://peep.reseau-environnement.com/economisez-leau/trucs-et-astuces/ (in French) to learn about the many tips aimed at saving water in our day-to-day lives.

To report any drinking water supply problems, residents are asked to contact the municipality by means of the B-CITI interactive platform at https://chateauguay.b-citi.com/.

Last update: 2018-05-15 15:18

Passer au contenu

Les citoyens invités à consommer l'eau potable de façon responsable

de l'eau sortant d'un boyau d'arrosage

En cette période de l’année où les travaux extérieurs abondent et où de fortes pointes sont atteintes dans l’utilisation de notre eau potable, la Ville de Châteauguay invite les citoyens à améliorer leurs habitudes et, si possible, à les modifier de façon à diminuer la demande en eau potable à l’extérieur des plages horaires normales, un peu comme Hydro-Québec le fait par grand froid avec l’électricité.

L’arrosage des pelouses, le lavage des voitures et le remplissage des piscines augmentent la consommation d’eau potable, particulièrement lors des premières fins de semaine de beau temps. Lors de périodes de consommation accrue en début d’année, le réseau non rincé (le rinçage unidirectionnel annuel ayant lieu de mai à novembre de chaque année) remet quelquefois des particules en circulation, ce qui peut provoquer un phénomène de coloration de l’eau, qui demeure cependant propre à la consommation.

La Ville rappelle aux citoyens qu’en tout temps, ils ont l’obligation de respecter la réglementation municipale régissant l’utilisation de l’eau potable. Ainsi, il est permis de faire usage de boyaux d’arrosage seulement entre 21 h et minuit, les jours pairs pour les résidences dont le numéro est pair et les jours impairs pour les résidences dont le numéro est impair. Le non-respect de la réglementation en vigueur peut mener à une contravention pouvant aller de 120 $ à 2000 $.

Il existe des astuces et des gestes simples pour économiser l’eau potable au quotidien. Visitez le http://peep.reseau-environnement.com/economisez-leau/trucs-et-astuces/ pour connaître une foule de trucs visant à économiser l’eau dans la vie de tous les jours.

Pour rapporter tout problème concernant l’alimentation en eau potable, les citoyens sont invités à contacter la municipalité via la plateforme interactive B-CITI au https://chateauguay.b-citi.com/

Dernière mise à jour: 2018-05-22 14:19