Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Denis Asselin

Denis Asselin

2011 - Arts Sector, Builder category

A native of Verdun, Denis Asselin has lived “music” since the age of three when he started studying piano. In 1960, after studying music in Québec and France, he started work at Radio-Canada as a pianist and musical arranger.

In 1964, Mr. Asselin started teaching music in many schools in Châteauguay where he taught children to love music. Working mostly at Polyvalente Louis-Philippe-Paré, he created the Orchestre des Jeunes de LPP. At the same time, he was one of the pillars of memorable “Polyspec” performances that the teaching institution became famous for and took great pride in. He continued to teach until 1997, when he took his well-deserved retirement.

In 1966, he united his teaching colleagues at Marguerite-Bourgeois school and founded a choir. This group officially became Le Chœur La Bohème de Châteauguay in 1968. In addition to shining across Québec, from 1973 to 1987, Denis Asselin and the Chœur La Bohème performed in the great concert halls of Québec and featured Québécois music on European tours.

In 1985 Denis Asselin took the lead of the Grand Orchestre de Châteauguay. Local concerts were performed and, in 1989, he led them on a tour in many cities in France.

In 1994, the Chœur en Fugue de Châteauguay was born and Mr. Asselin became the musical director. He left in 2003 with the feeling of a task completed. 

Denis Asselin has taught many generations of students and was the origin and/or founding member of three musical organizations in Châteauguay. He has made a significant mark on the cultural landscape of Châteauguay, and it is with this in mind that he officially becomes a member of the Châteauguay Hall of Fame. 

Last update: 2012-10-17 10:07

Passer au contenu
Bris d'aqueduc au 188 rue Melrose

Denis Asselin

Denis Asselin2011 - Secteur arts, catégorie Bâtisseur

Natif de Verdun, Denis Asselin vit « musique » depuis l’âge de trois ans alors qu’il entreprend ses études de piano. Après avoir étudié la musique tant au Québec qu’en France, il fait ses premiers pas vers 1960 à la télévision de Radio-Canada, à titre de pianiste et d’arrangeur.

En 1964, il entreprend sa carrière d’enseignant en musique et œuvre dans plusieurs écoles de Châteauguay où il se donne comme mission d’implanter et de faire aimer la musique aux jeunes. Œuvrant surtout à la Polyvalente Louis-Philippe-Paré, il crée l’Orchestre des Jeunes de LPP. Simultanément, il organise avec d’autres collègues les mémorables spectacles « Polyspec » qui feront la renommée et la fierté de l’établissement scolaire. Il continuera sa carrière d’enseignant jusqu’en 1997, année de sa retraite bien méritée.

En 1966, parallèlement à son métier, il réunit des collègues enseignants de l’école Marguerite-Bourgeois et fonde une chorale. Cet ensemble jette la base de ce qui deviendra officiellement en 1968, Le Chœur La Bohème de Châteauguay. En plus de rayonner à travers le Québec de 1973 à 1987, Denis Asselin et Le Chœur La Bohème performeront dans les plus grandes salles du Québec et feront connaître la musique québécoise lors de plusieurs tournées européennes.

C’est en 1985 que M. Asselin prend la barre du Grand Orchestre de Châteauguay. Des concerts locaux sont donnés, et en 1989, il les mène en tournée dans une série de prestations dans plusieurs villes de France.

En 1994, le Chœur en Fugue de Châteauguay voit le jour et M. Asselin en devient le directeur musical. Il quittera ses fonctions en 2003 avec le sentiment du devoir accompli. 

Denis Asselin a enseigné à plusieurs générations d’étudiants et a été à l’origine et/ou membre déterminant au sein des trois organismes à saveurs musicales de Châteauguay. Il a marqué de manière significative le paysage culturel châteauguois, et c’est à ce titre qu’il entre officiellement au Temple de la renommée de Châteauguay.

Dernière mise à jour: 2012-10-17 09:08