Built in 1792 by Pierre Bouthillier, who operated a business there, the Maison LePailleur is one of the oldest houses in Châteauguay. It was acquired in 1826 by notary François George LePailleur who made it his home and his study. His son, Alfred-Narcisse, succeeded him. The house belonged to the LaPailleurs for nearly 50 years.
Ville de Châteauguay acquired it in 1997 and turned its management over to the Société du Musée du Grand Châteauguay.
Working relentlessly to conserve the heritage of Grand Châteauguay and the surrounding region, the Maison LaPailleur stages exhibitions and many activities to promote the historical and cultural wealth of the region.
To discover the variety of cultural activities presented by Maison LePailleur on the history of the region, visit the Maison LePailleur – Cultural Programming page.