Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

New Hydrometric Station for the City

 

 The Ville de Châteauguay recently installed a hydrometric station, including a solar panel and a camera, in front of Saint-Joachim Church. This station will be used to document the status of the Châteauguay River, mainly during the spring thaw, but also throughout the year.

In fact, the hydrometric station consists of several devices. Two probes collect daily information, measured remotely and transmitted in real time: the pressure probe and the barometric probe. The rain gauge calculates the quantity of rain that has fallen in the same place in order to forecast flooding. Finally, a camera, also installed on this station, facilitates the monitoring of the river level and ice movement.

The data is read on a daily basis by Hydro météo, a company with expertise in managing risks related to flooding, severe weather impacts and safe access to ice cover. The municipal emergency measures team also receives data in real time.

The installation of these devices cost $15,561. However, the City benefited from a grant for $13,984, from the Ministère de la Sécurité under the 2013–2020 action plan on climate change.

The equipment will improve civil protection operations and facilitate decision-making.

 

Last update: 2020-07-16 09:52

Passer au contenu

La Ville pourra mieux capter le niveau de la rivière Châteauguay

La Ville de Châteauguay a récemment fait l’installation d’un panneau solaire et d’une caméra devant l’église Saint-Joachim. Cette station hydrométrique servira à documenter l’état de la rivière Châteauguay, principalement lors de la crue des eaux au printemps, mais aussi tout au long de l’année.

La station hydrométrique est en fait constituée de plusieurs appareils.  Deux sondes permettent le recueil d’information journalière, mesurée à distance et diffusée en temps réels; ce sont la sonde de pression et la sonde barométrique.  Le pluviomètre permet quant à lui de calculer la quantité de pluie tombée au même endroit dans le but de prévoir les différentes crues. Enfin, une caméra, également installée sur cette station, facilite la surveillance du niveau de la rivière et des mouvements de glace.

Ces équipements sont lus quotidiennement par Hydro météo, une entreprise experte dans la gestion des risques liés aux inondations, aux impacts du temps violent ainsi qu'à l'accès sécuritaire au couvert de glace.  L’équipe municipale des mesures d’urgence reçoit également les données en temps réel.

L’installation de ces appareils a coûté 15 561 $. La Ville a cependant bénéficié d’une subvention de 13 984 $, octroyé par le ministère de la Sécurité dans le cadre du plan d’action 2013-2020 sur les changements climatiques.

Ces équipements permettront l’amélioration des opérations et la prise facilitée de décisions en matière de sécurité civile.

 

Dernière mise à jour: 2020-06-16 19:15

Publication