Skip to content

    Ville de Châteauguay

    Events

    «  
      »
    S M T W T F S
     
     
     
    1
     
    2
     
    3
     
    4
     
    5
     
    6
     
    7
     
    8
     
    9
     
    10
     
    11
     
    12
     
    13
     
    14
     
    15
     
    16
     
    17
     
    18
     
    19
     
    20
     
    21
     
    22
     
    23
     
    24
     
    25
     
    26
     
    27
     
    28
     
    29
     
    30
     
    31
     
     

    Newsletter

    Subscribe!

    Common Front to Increase the Monitoring and Protection of the Centre écologique Fernand-Seguin

    The Ville de Châteauguay and Héritage Saint-Bernard are greatly concerned about the many acts of vandalism committed since January at the Centre écologique Fernand-Seguin. The partners mainly point to the actions that occurred on the evening of Saturday, February 22. The Service de police de Châteauguay is currently conducting an investigation.

    Last weekend, 28 signs were painted with black paint. A camp fire was lit in the woods and fuelled by fences, poles and mature trees cut on the site. A dozen trees were cut down. According to Héritage Saint-Bernard, the damage is evaluated at nearly $15,000.

    Surveillance cameras installed on the site captured images of suspects which are being used in the ongoing investigation. Cameras will be added shortly to improve the security of visitors and help preserve this natural environment.

    “These acts are unacceptable and all acts of vandalism must be condemned. Do not hesitate to denounce vandalism so that everyone can enjoy high-quality infrastructure. These acts are incomprehensible and unacceptable,” emphasized Pierre-Paul Routhier, Mayor of Châteauguay.

    “In the Greater Châteauguay area, the Centre écologique Fernand-Seguin is one of the few natural sites open at no charge,” commented Luc L’Écuyer, Executive Director, Héritage Saint-Bernard. “It is essential to protect the biodiversity of this environment rich in fauna and flora, which is composed of noble species such as hardwoods,” added Mr. L’Écuyer.

    People who have information on these acts of vandalism can call the INFO-CONFIDENTIELLE line of the Service de police de Châteauguay at 450 698-3229.

     

     

    Last update: 2020-03-02 09:00

Passer au contenu

Front commun pour accroître la surveillance et la protection du centre écologique Fernand-Seguin

La Ville de Châteauguay et Héritage Saint-Bernard sont grandement préoccupés par les nombreux actes de vandalisme commis depuis janvier au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin. Les partenaires déplorent particulièrement les gestes survenus dans la soirée du samedi 22 février dernier. Le Service de police de Châteauguay mène actuellement une enquête.

Le week-end dernier, 28 pancartes ont été recouvertes de peinture noire. Un feu de camp a été allumé dans le boisé, alimenté de clôtures faites de perche et d’arbres matures coupés sur le site. Une douzaine d’arbres ont été abattus. Selon Héritage Saint-Bernard, les dommages sont évalués à près de 15 000 dollars.

Les caméras de surveillance installées sur le site ont capté des images des suspects qui sont utilisées dans l’enquête en cours. Des caméras seront ajoutées sous peu pour accroître la sécurité des visiteurs et aider à la préservation de ce milieu naturel.

« Ces actes sont inadmissibles, et, toutes les incivilités doivent être condamnées. Il ne faut pas hésiter à les dénoncer pour que tous puissent pouvoir se prévaloir d’infrastructures de qualité. Ces gestes sont incompréhensibles et inacceptables. », a fait valoir Pierre-Paul Routhier, maire de Châteauguay.

« Dans la grande région de Châteauguay, le centre écologique Fernand-Seguin est l’un des rares sites naturels accessibles gratuitement. », commente Luc L’Écuyer, directeur général d’Héritage Saint-Bernard. « Il est essentiel de protéger la biodiversité de ce milieu riche au point de vue faunique et floristique, composé d’essences nobles.», ajoute M. L’Écuyer.

Les personnes qui détiennent des renseignements sur ces actes de vandalisme peuvent téléphoner en tout temps à la ligne INFO-CONFIDENTIELLE du Service de police de Châteauguay en composant le 450 698-3229.

Publication