

COM54A

For **IMMEDIATE** release

Municipal Elections in Châteauguay Châteauguay Elects a New City Council

Châteauguay, November 9, 2021 – Like many other citizens across Quebec, Châteauguay's electorate went to the polls on municipal voting day, Sunday, November 7th. After the votes were counted, the election chairperson, George Dolhan, confirmed the election of Éric Allard to the position of mayor of Châteauguay.

In addition to Éric Allard, 8 councillors were elected in the city's eight districts: Barry Doyle (District 1 – de la Noue), Arlene Bryant (District 2 – du Filgate), Éric Corbeil (District 3 – de Robutel), Lucie Laberge (District 4 – de Bumbray), Marie-Louise Kerneis (District 5 – de Salaberry), Mike Gendron (District 6 – de Lang), Luc Daoust (District 7 – de Le Moyne) and François Le Borgne (District 8 – D'Youville).

A total of 12,029 electors exercised their right to vote, for a participation rate of 32.59%.

Éric Allard was elected with 52.79% of the votes, beating candidates Nathalie Simon (27.92%) and Lucie Lamoureux (18.01%) by 3,000 and 4,000 votes respectively. The detailed results can be viewed on our website at <u>ville.chateauguay.qc.ca/elections2021</u> and a summary table is provided at the end of this press release.

Ville de Châteauguay would like to congratulate the newly elected mayor and councillors and to commend Nathalie Simon and Lucie Lamoureux in particular for their involvement, making the 2021 election a first for the City by having two women in the mayoral race. The City also wants to thank all the unsuccessful candidates for their campaigns, the citizens who exercised their right to vote, as well as all the election workers, who contributed to making this democratic exercise a success.

The candidates elected will be officially appointed to their new positions on Sunday, November 14th, during a swearing-in ceremony held at the Pavillon de l'île.



Summary of results – 2021 Election

Position	Candidate elected	Percentage of votes obtained
Mayor	Éric Allard Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	52.79%
District 1 (de la Noue)	Barry Doyle Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	46.25%
District 2 (du Filgate)	Arlene Bryant Alliance Châteauguay– Éric Allard Team	58.10%
District 3 (de Robutel)	Éric Corbeil Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	66.99%
District 4 (de Bumbray)	Lucie Laberge Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	58.20%
District 5 (de Salaberry)	Marie-Louise Kerneis Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	46.28%
District 6 (de Lang)	Mike Gendron Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	66.48%
District 7 (de Le Moyne)	Luc Daoust Alliance Châteauguay – Éric Allard Team	52.37%
District 8 (D'Youville)	François Le Borgne Independent	38.79%

Direction des communications et des relations publiques 5, Boulevard D'Youville Châteauguay (QC) J6J 2P8 M 450 698-3017